Two TuTus

My oldest niece is turning 5 on Friday.  The girls have always loved to dance and the style du jour is ballet.  This means long, sweeping arm gestures and legs bent high behind them.  I had an idea that I could make a couple tutus in time for her birthday.  I already had lots of pink, shiny fabric that I had once intended on making fairy skirts with.  tutufirsttryI searched and found several tutorials on tutu making on the net, so this past weekend my mom and I cut strips of fabric, sewed together elastic bands, and started constructing the skirts.  There were two major problems.  One:  this organza-like fabric kept slipping out of its knot, and Two: the strips frayed and looked horrible by the time we were done.  Argh, how frustrating.  We tried sewing the strips to keep them from slipping off, but the fraying was too ugly.  I thought maybe I could treat the edges of the fabric with fray check or by burning them, but there were a lot of strips and a lot of edges and not much time.  Which was too bad, because the fabric was so pretty.

So I headed to the Etsy forums and got some advice (and sympathy) and then headed out to JoAnn’s with my 40% off coupons.  I bought a bunch of soft tulle in two pink tones and tried again, with much better results!  They were pretty quick and easy to make and will be lots of fun for the girls for dress-up.   I only wish I could be there to see them dance in them.

tutusecond

If you want to make your own tutu, cut 6″ wide strips of tulle in the length of your choice and tie to a one-inch elastic band the size of your child’s waist.  Tada!

3 responses to “Two TuTus

  1. This is lovely! I’m sure your niece will love it.. lucky to have an Aunt like you. :)

    PS: Thanks for the vote in my poll!

    Rheea

  2. So cute! I would have loved one of those back in the day.

    And I don’t know if you read dooce.com, but check it out… she’s pregnant, but also loving the tutu trend.

  3. Lovely! I know my sister and I would’ve loved to dance around the house in this cute tutu. You have a lucky niece!

Leave a Reply

