RED

And just in time for Valentine’s Day.

I started this dress back in May and for some reason just stopped knitting it.  I kept thinking about getting it out and finishing it, but then felt it would be daunting to try to figure out where I was in the pattern, so I kept putting it off.  I’m thinking now that may have been the beginnings of my knitting funk and I was just struggling too much with this project. But I picked it up, flew through to the finish, and found it a really fun knit.  No problems.  Gorgeous.  Funk over.

I started this dress for Evie in a size a little bigger hoping she’d get a lot of future use from it, but since I waited so long she may have outgrown it already.  Which is a shame, because her mom picked the yarn color and everything.  I’m sure some deserving little girl will come my way and I can pass it along if it doesn’t fit.

Did I mention this is Susan’s Jule Dress, recently published in Knitcircus’ Winter Issue?  I am proud to say Susan is a friend of mine, and an amazing designer.  You will find her designs in a number of publications, including Knitty and Interweave Knits!  I could write a bunch more about Susan and her knits, but you should just read her blog, Handknits by Susan.  The problem with knowing a designer and getting an early look at her designs is that you can’t say anything about it until the publication goes live.  I’m sure it seems an even longer wait for designers.

A little something about the yarn:  This is Knit Picks Shine in Hollyberry.  While I’m a huge fan of Knit Picks, I am not a fan of this yarn.  It is 60% pima cotton and 40% modal, very heavy, and fuzzes up quite a bit.  Just from handling it to knit it a haze of fuzz has formed on this piece.  I recommend you choose another yarn for your projects and leave the Shine alone.

And Happy Valentine’s Day, whatever that may mean for you.

Leave a Reply

