Knit Camp

February again, and time for the 6th annual Kon-O-Kwee knit camp weekend.  If you haven’t been keeping up, the knit camp weekend is held each February at the beautiful YMCA lodge in Zelionople, just less than 1 hour north of the city.  All of our meals are provided and we sleep dorm style with shared bathrooms for the weekend.  Several areas are available to us to sit and knit, crochet, or spin.  If one can set down the needles, the grounds are gorgeous for a nice walk in the snow.

This year I was part of the favors committee.  It was a challenging job with a very small budget.  That meant I had to get really creative.  I took far too many trips to JoAnn Fabrics with coupons in hand for Susan Bates needle gauges and Deborah Norville’s Serenity sock yarn.  I got some yarn deals through Knit Picks and Elann.com.  Highland Alpaca provided some yummy yarn samples and discount coupons.  I turned to eBay for some amazing deals, including a huge lot of rubber o-rings (for use in tattoo guns) to use as stitch markers.  But the best favor, in my opinion, were the fabric needle cases. 

With fabric from my stash and Lisa’s, I took to sewing 58 of these awesome needle organizers designed by my friend Susan.  I love these cases for storing and organizing circular and double-pointed needles.  The metal needle gauge fits perfectly in the larger pockets.  Susan’s design includes a little notions pocket, but I left that out to save a little time (and sanity).

Every year there is an auction at camp and this year I got this awesome entrelac hat knit by Judy P.  I thought I would give it to someone else as a gift, but once I tried it on, I knew it was mine, all mine!

Sadly, I had no projects in mind for the knit weekend and much of what I worked on has been ripped back.  But the best part of this annual retreat is catching up with the many returning knitters anyway.  It’s very inspiring to see all the fabulous knitting projects and the beautiful designs and yarns in the group.  The project that had me rushing home to my stash was the Ten Stitch Twist using sock yarn.  I absolutely love stash busting projects and can’t wait to get this started!

2 responses to “Knit Camp

  1. Lisa, I didn’t know you made all the needle cases!
    Thank you so much!

  2. Looks like you had a really fun weekend! That entrelac hat is super cute!

Leave a Reply

