Pittsburgh Design Fair

Design Fair - Priory Courtyard

Design Fair - Priory Courtyard

The second annual Pittsburgh Design Fair for House and Garden was held today at the Priory in the North Side.  This was my first time attending the Design Fair.  A small number of vendors were at hand and the focus of the event was on Green Building and Design. The highlight of the event, for me, was the 1/2 hour speaker presentations.  Had I looked at the list of speakers and topics earlier, though, I could have planned my visit better.

Design Fair - Priory Grand Hall

Design Fair - Priory Grand Hall

I talked with the folks at the Community Design Center of Pittsburgh (the Design Fair organizer) about a program called the RenPlan.  The RenPlan provides volunteer architects, landscape architects, and interior designers for consultation on home improvement projects.  This sounds like the perfect place to start considering the changes that I’d like or that need to be made in my 100+ year old home.

I grabbed business cards from a couple vendors that would be able to repair the leaded glass window that was once in the front door.  I would like to replace the door with a more energy efficient door (last year snow blew through the gap of the door), so I plan on hanging the repaired window as artwork inside the house.  I looked through an iron worker’s photo album of custom railings.  After my dad pirouetted down the front steps of my house (and miraculously landed on two feet) I realize a railing is a big priority.  I just can’t see them as anything but ugly.  Maybe I can find something that blends well with the look of the house.

The Pennsylvania Resources Council offers classes in Composting, Worm Composting, and Rain Barrel construction.  Something to keep in mind and to incorporate into revamping the backyard.

Representatives from Master Remodelers and from Eden’s Envy were very patient and helpful in answering questions about design, remodel, and repairs, but I’m not quite ready for them.  The RenPlan consultation sounds like the logical first step.

The Priory Entrance

The Priory Entrance

X

X

X

My completed survey of the Design Fair will be entered into a drawing for a stay in the Priory (the old St. Mary’s church).  Fingers crossed…

Leave a Reply

