Handmade Arcade 2008

ha08-huntarmoryI volunteered this afternoon at the 5th Annual Handmade Arcade.  The Handmade Arcade has moved to the Hunt Armory after 4 consecutive years at Construction Junctionha08-inside-2The Hunt Armory is an active military facility nestled among schools, churches, shops and homes in Shadyside.  Inside this large open space were more than 85 vendors, interactive demonstrations, local foods, and non-stop music.

ha08-air

x

x

Members of Artist Image Resource were demonstrating the silkscreen process to visitors, including this extra-large reprint of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette’s November 5th headline.

ha08-sccha08-enamelI made this little bird pendant with Kathryn Cole from the Society for Contemporary Craft.  One side was coated with enamel powder that I scratched the design into, then it went into a kiln to be fired and set.

ha08-sunstone_2ha08-sunstoneI hit my favorite soap sellers, Sunstone Soap, to stock up on my stash.  I love having these soaps on hand for a quick little gift, maybe matched with a handknit wash cloth.  I use most of them for myself as a wonderful treat in the shower.  Today I bought “Sweet Spearmint”, “Sweet Honey with Oatmeal”, and “Peppermint Vanilla”.  And Kim threw in a little extra something for me.

While most people were taking a chunk out of their Christmas shopping, I decided to treat myself to some handmade goodies.  I bought these sweet little bird earrings from Figs & Gingerha08-birdearrings

ha08-earringsx

…and these gorgeous danglers from Beth Pohlman.

x

I love wearing scarves. ha08-scarf If my neck is warm, then I am warm.  But sometimes my green, fuzzy, wool scarf is too warm.  So I’m very excited to now own this cotton scarf from Red Prairie Pressha08-redprairie.

x

x

x

x

x

There were so many other really great shops, but I just couldn’t figure out who to buy for from these shops.  I immediately recognized Get Felt Up’s lovely felted items from browsing around Etsy.  And Girls Can Tell had the best screenprinted images of bikes and cameras and sewing machines.  I met a lot of fellow Etsians and was surprised by the number of people that came from neighboring states.  Many from Baltimore, some from Ohio, and a gal from New Orleans.  I left the show feeling really inspired and am considering applying for Handmade Arcade 2009.

6 responses to “Handmade Arcade 2008

  1. Oooh, you should definitely apply for a booth next year. Your felted knits are so cute. There were far too few knitting booths this year (apart from Cosy). I say go for it!

  2. Plus the Armory is a much better venue for the show. Much more room and less drafty than Construction Junction! I hope they keep Handmade Arcade at the Armory next year.

  3. Fantastic blog. congrats on the 1000 views-saw that on twitter!

  4. Very cute pendant!

  5. I need help finding the woman who sold the pictures of the hand painted miniature bowling pins-she had them somehow screenprinted on wooden blocks. I bought one but want more and I did not get a card from her-Please someone help-I know she is local to Pittsburgh.

Leave a Reply

