Handmade Christmas Ornaments ’07

Last year I “taught” myself to crochet just enough to make crocheted snowflake ornaments for Christmas.  My great aunts crocheted snowflake ornaments that are cherished heirlooms in my family.  In honor of them I wanted to carry on the tradition.  I sent them to friends and family in handmade cards, some with handmade envelopes.  I made sure to make the snowflakes a little different for the family members, using beads, non-white threads, or making smaller snowflakes.  It was a real labor of love and my favorite part of preparing for the holidays.

crochet-snowflakes
This year, as I make my handmade cards to send out, I am thinking about these aunts.  We lost the last surviving member of my grandmother’s siblings over the summer, my aunt Margie.

Leave a Reply

