Where’s the “knit” in Knitsburgh?

I know, I haven’t had a knitting post in a while.  Truth is, I haven’t really been knitting much.  I mean, I’ve been nibbling away on a few projects, but nothing that I could blog about.  But, since today is the baby shower, I can show my most recent finished object.  This Baby Surprise Jacket is for my friend Rebecca.  Her and her husband are expecting their first child in August.  I love that they are waiting for the birth of the baby to find out the sex.  It’s a little challenging knitting a unisex garment, but also nice to not feel compelled to knit a pink or blue sweater.  This yarn is from the Kaffe Fassett Design Line for Regia.  While I’m not a fan of Fassett’s designs (too over the top for me), I do love his colors.  I have been admiring this yarn for some time and was thrilled to be using it for the sweater.  The Baby Surprise Jacket is a great pattern for varigated and self striping yarns.  And I love that I found matching buttons (Parker Button)!

RebeccasBSJ

3 responses to “Where’s the “knit” in Knitsburgh?

  1. The BSJ turned out so cute! I’m going to have to knit one myself some day, just because it seems like magic how it all comes together in the end. Great job!

  2. love it!!!! miss you guys!!!

    –jen

  3. I love it too! And the baby will definitely be wearing this often! It’s so soft and the colors are so pretty.

    When I was showing my husband, I tried to describe its construction. It’s just as hard to describe after it’s sewn up, as it is to figure out how that wacky rectangle becomes a jacket! I had to give up, but we both agreed we really love it! Thanks for such a special and sweet gift for our baby!

Leave a Reply

