Knitting Frenzy

I have been in a knitting frenzy.  You should know this probably means I’m avoiding doing something else.  Knitting is a great way to procrastinate without feeling quite so guilty!  I just finished Sarah Webster’s Challenger Hat pattern.

I used up some Lion Wool from my stash.  I love this color:  Lemongrass.  The hat is the first one that really fits me.  I think I make my own hats too small and then never wear them.  Lesson learned.  This was a pretty easy, straight forward pattern.  I did modify the top just a little to keep the ribbing pattern to the end.  The original pattern calls for the last few rounds to be done in stockinette.  I did a double decrease then purl 1 on those rounds (slip st, k2tog, psso) until about 9 stitches were left.  The biggest pain in the ass working this hat is that my needles are all over the place and I could only find 4 dpns, which meant stitches were constantly falling off the ends and needed to be picked up.

I finished and blocked this scarf and finally had a chance to photograph it.  This is Catherine Ryan’s Pioneer Braid Scarf pattern.

I am obsessed with the Regia Designer Line sock yarn, especially since the LYS has it on sale 40% off.  It’s funny, after doing the previous Lizard Ridge inspired scarf, I told a friend to look for patterns with slipped stitches to really show off the colors in this yarn.  I think, instead, short rows are the way to go.  The nice, long color runs in this yarn really hold up for the width of a scarf.  I have one more set of Designer Line skeins and am desperately looking for another short row pattern to make it in.  I may come up with my own short row design for this particular color way.

Also recently completed is the Caryll McConnell’s Wavy Wimple using another skein of Deborah Norville’s Serenity sock yarn.

I didn’t bother to do a swatch for this pattern figuring I could find someone, somewhere that it’ll fit.  So the wimple is not a true wimple, but more of a cowl – and I’m keeping it for myself.  The wavy lace pattern is beautiful and uncommon and the cowl is stretchy and warm.  Of course a solid yarn would show off the pattern better, but I’m trying to find quick, one skein projects to share.  I still think this is incredibly nice yarn for being so inexpensive.  Since it’s available at JoAnn fabrics it can easily be found by any knitter.  This color way is my favorite, it’s called “Chili”.  I love the nice long stripes of pink and grayish/greenish white.

So many more projects in mind, but, of course, I’ll eventually have to get to those things I’ve been avoiding.  Yeah, ha ha.

One response to “Knitting Frenzy

  1. Wow the short row scarf is stunning! It really blocked up nice. I may have to take advantage of that 40% off sale before it’s too late…

Leave a comment